Safari Canoe
Insect Repellent Reviews
Excellent ...

Just come back from Alykanas - Zakynthos where I used this product every night for 2 weeks.
Not one mosquito bite and previously I have been prone to them.
The aroma is distinctive to say the least but it definitely works - recommended!!

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/9/2017

Loved it ...

Loved it.... it worked like a dream when I was bitten.. it stopped the itching very fast and they healed within a few days.

Reviewed Product: Bug Bite Relief

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 2/6/2017

This stuff is great. I do a lot of wild camping ...

This stuff is great. I do a lot of wild camping. And after being bitten to death over years I invested in this stuff. I can honestly say that I have never had a bite since. A must-have if you want to keep biting insects at bay. 

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/31/2017

The best product out there...by far! ...

Having read reviews for both products (the DEET based one and this one) I was going to be persuaded to buy the DEET one, due to the much larger number of positive reviews.

However, having chosen this one in the end, I can tell you that it has no rivals in the industry...

- it does not smell bad, actually quite nice, overall

- it REALLY does work, I could see a mosquito almost getting to the skin, and then 1 cm before making a U-TURN...;-)))

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 1/15/2017

Brilliant! ...

Brilliant product! I always seem to get eaten alive by insects whenever I go abroad so when I found out I would be going to the Dominican Republic I wanted a repellent that worked. After doing some searching online I bought this and it is amazing! I would recommend this to anyone! Unlike other sprays I've used, it doesn't smell of chemicals and isn't greasy once applied. It is absorbed into the skin almost straight away and lasts for hours, I didn't get bitten by mosquitoes once the whole 2 weeks I was away!

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 1/14/2017

Does exactly what it says... ...

Excellent product, pleasant to use, easy to apply and does exactly what it's supposed to... stops the bites. 100% recommendation.

Reviewed Product: Trek Ultra

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/8/2017

Fantastic ...

Great in Cuba kept majority of mosquitos and bugs away just make sure all exposed areas are covered with repellent and it will work wonders. Used on adults and kids (age 5 & 9) with no reactions or side effects. This bottle lasted 2 adults and 2 kids 2 weeks away. 

Reviewed Product: Trek Ultra

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 1/12/2017

Yes, it DOES work ...

Yes, it DOES work. I'm usually a prime target for those pesky mosquitoes, but they had to look elsewhere for a meal on my recent holiday. I will certainly use it again next time I take a holiday in a high risk area. After all it's got to be better than contracting Malaria or Dengue. With its long-acting formulation, it really did work all day with one application. By the way, I read that the strength of DEET just gives an indication as to how long a formulation will protect you for. So, 100% is no more effective than 30%, it's just effective for longer, but also more toxic....30% seems a good compromise, and with this long-acting formulation, you shouldn't need anything stronger.

Reviewed Product: Trek Ultra

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 1/22/2017

It works. Better than DEET ...

Very effective repellent. No bites once applied. And I am a mosquito target :-)
Wee bit smelly but that goes after a few minutes. Not as greasy as some similar products.
Way nicer than DEET based products.
Recommend.

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 12/29/2016

Great spray, would definitely recommend... ...

I read a lot about DEET vs Saltidin, and my understanding is that this concentration of Saltidin is as effective as 50% DEET sprays for repelling mosquitoes. I used this on a recent trip to Bali and I only had one mosquito bite - which I suffered in the airport upon landing (I hadn't applied the spray!). 

Would definitely recommend this product - seems effective but not as sticky as DEET. Smells rather pleasant and this will last around two weeks of fairly liberal applications.

 

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 12/11/2016

Great for adults and kids ...

Fantastic instant relief for mosquito bites in Cuba used on adults and kids (ages 5 & 9) over two weeks loads left in bottle for next holiday would defo recommend. 

Reviewed Product: Bug Bite Relief

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 1/12/2017

five stars ...

Works really well, stops the itching and clears the bites quickly. 

Reviewed Product: Bug Bite Relief

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 12/1/2016

Very Good Product ...

Took this product to Mexico with us and whenever we did get bitten it worked straight away at taking away the itch! Very good product.

Reviewed Product: Bug Bite Relief

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 11/21/2016

My Go-to Repellent from Now On ...

I used this in Peru where the midges and mozzies were out in force.

After 4 days of hiking, I came back with 8 bites so does that mean it didn't work? Well, all I know is that being a mozzie magnet, 8 bites was nothing. Unlike a lot of other repellents, the smell of this is pleasant.

I went for this instead of deet since deet sometimes eats through plastic and technical gear. I have a lot to protect, glasses/sunglasses, waterproofs….

This is my go-to repellent from now on. 

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 11/15/2016

Smells better and isn't too greasy ...

Took this on a trip to Sri Lanka instead of a DEET based product (which I've used many times in the past). This is much nicer stuff to use. It's effective, smells better and isn't too greasy (seems a bit when you first spray it on, but the greasiness soon goes away). My wife, daughter and I found 2 bottles were plenty for a 2 week holiday.

Note that its main ingredient is Saltidin. If you look it up on wikipedia (under Icaridin) it states:

"Icaridin has been reported to be as effective as DEET without the irritation associated with DEET.[3] According to the WHO, icaridin “demonstrates excellent repellent properties comparable to, and often superior to, those of the standard DEET.” In the United States, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommends using repellents based on Icaridin, DEET, IR3535, or oil of lemon eucalyptus (containing p-menthane-3,8-diol, PMD) for effective protection against mosquitoes that carry the West Nile virus, Eastern Equine Encephalitis and other illnesses. 

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 10/16/2016

Will Buy Again ...

We’ve been using this product throughout the summer in our static caravan in a woodland holiday park. We did have a few insect bites, but that might be due to not applying it properly all over (esp. kids). I like the fact that it's in a spray bottle and we actually all spayed our socks and backs, as well as exposed skin.
Both kids have eczema, but their skin was fine after application.
Will be buying more for next year..

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 10/5/2016

Amazing Product- Actually Works ...

I am usually plagued by mosquito bites when I travel to tropical countries. Not only that but I am rather allergic to them also to the point where they swell and are the size of a 10p and they become like giant blisters. Having been bitten over 100 times when I Mexico I was a little worried when we decided to book Bali!

I did so much research and homework on products to use and decided to buy this. We also had to wear this during the day due to the dengue mosquito in Bali. Well, I only got bitten once and that was down to not applying it correctly.
This product saved my skin, literally! It is quite oily on the skin but doesn't have that overpowering smell lots of other DEET products have. This worked a treat and for the first time ever, I was able to enjoy sitting outside in the lovely warm evenings watching the sun set without fear of being bitten. Wonderful product and will use it again and again!!

 

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 10/2/2016

Fab Product ...

Great as a general natural skin oil as well as a midge deterrent. I like the emollient feel, light smell, and no paraben nasties. Squirt into hand and apply though- I squirted straight onto my arm and it bounced into my eye and hurt! I'll be buying this as a skin protector in future.

Reviewed Product: Trek Natural

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/20/2016

Don't waste money on any other mosquito or insect repellent ...

Don't waste money on any other mosquito or insect repellent this is the only one you need works in the most trying conditions and repels all. Bought my stock for next year and beyond already.

Reviewed Product: Trek Natural

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/23/2016

pleased to have discovered it ...

My husband and I have just returned from a 2-week holiday of Costa Rica and delighted to say without a single bite. On our tour we visited Tortuguero and with its humidity, rainfall, heat and vegetation, a breeding ground for mosquitoes. We still managed to avoid getting bitten due to careful application of this great repellent.

Trek Sensitive is easy to apply, dries quickly and has a pleasant smell, unlike the DEET products we have used in the past. I'm so pleased to have discovered it.

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 2/15/2017

A very pleasant alternative to Jungle Formula ...

First time with this stuff. Really nice smell and feels good going on the skin. We used it when sitting around the dining table so we did not get the smell of Jungle Formula invading dinner - seems to work very well but can’t tell whether it was more or less effective than JF though. 

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 4/5/2017

Effective DEET FREE spray ...

I am a magnet to biting insects and this spray has proved very effective for me during my holidays to the Far East. I didn't want anything based on DEET so my research led me to this product. It is based on Saltidin which is a very good alternative to DEET. It has a pleasant smell and is not greasy. I was out most of the day without a single bite. The product is also safe on kids older than 2 which is a plus. Recommended.

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/13/2017

So far so good with zero bites… ...

After having been eaten alive playing tennis recently (swelling and scars to prove!) I was on the lookout for something effective and tried this. So far so good with zero bites over the past 2 weeks despite the air being full of little critters and others suffering. Goes on easily, slightly oily at first but dries fast and has a pleasant scent - not overpoweringly chemical in nature.

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/14/2016

Well worth the purchase ...

Really good product and the smell was rather pleasant for such a product. Only went to Portugal but very noticeable after being bitten last year that this kept away the mosquitoes and flies not only from your body but also from the dinner table.

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/19/2016

Fantastic! ...

I was looking for something effective which contained no DEET. This was perfect for all the family. Lightly scented, non-sticky, lasts all day. The whole family remained bite free when using.
Will definitely buy again. Highly recommended.

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/20/2016

An absolute fantastic product ...

I often get bitten when travelling abroad that brings nothing but misery and itchiness to me at a time when I should be having fun. I tend to buy DEET but know the harmful impact these products have. This one is brilliant.

Not only is it DEET free which keep you away from all those harmful chemicals but it is safe enough to use on my children. I kept bite free from my holidays which is amazing considering I usually get many bites a day in the August period when the mosquito are everywhere.

I recommend it highly!

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/20/2016

That stopped ‘em! ...

I watched one little blighter try to get at my arm and failing miserably gave up after a few attempts and flew off so I'm convinced it works. Normally I would have been savaged. Only one bite this year, must have missed that part with the spray.

Doesn't smell bad like a lot of these products and, best of all, no DEET. 

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/10/2016

Very Good- Recommended ...

Like this a lot. We recently holidayed in a region which had active mosquitoes and took both a max strength DEET spray and the Trek spray. After a couple of days everyone in the family used the TREK spray preferentially. Its effectiveness seems similar to DEET as far as we can tell but it smelled a million times better than DEET and did not have the staining effect that DEET can have on clothes and shoes. 

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/9/2016

Fantastic ...

Didn't get bitten once and I always get bitten. Didn't smell either. Will most definitely be buying it again.

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 4/7/2016

Great handy bottle just drop it in your bag ...

With a trip to Thailand, it was a great product just to drop in my bag, applied easy with the little pump action spray, great for my kids and the kept the mosquitos away, normally my husband and son would be bitten numerous times, but this trip has been bite free now that's worth 5 stars

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 3/30/2016

Worked in Brazil Against Aedes Aegypti ...

 

I used this on myself, my wife and two children. We wanted protection from Aedes Aegypti, the mosquito that transmits Dengue and Zika. We didn't get bitten. We were not in a highly infested region, still, we felt safe.

 

Towards the end of the trip I got sloppy with it and made the mistake of playing volleyball at dawn without it. The simple mosquitoes, muriçocas, had a feast

 

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/8/2016

This stuff really worked ...

This stuff really worked, we only got bitten on the one evening that we forgot to put it on during 2 weeks in Thailand so it is definitely effective. It doesn't smell too strongly, and I had heard some really horrible things about deet repellents, such as clothes being destroyed, shoes melted etc, but we didn't suffer with any of that with this product.

I did loads of research before travelling to pick a good repellent, and I am so glad I chose this one as it did everything we wanted it to. Other people we were on holiday with were using the Jungle Formula one and still getting bitten and suffering the side effects of deet. There were only 2 things I didn't like about it. Firstly, as it says it is suitable for children over 2, I had bought it to use on my 3 year old as well.

But when it arrived and I read the instructions, it said they could only have 5 sprays per day of it. I decided as there was such a restriction it must be really strong and not suitable for sensitive skin, so I bought the repel sensitive for her which was brilliant. The second thing is that it doesn't spray very well, it just comes out in a big blob, so I guess the bottle could be improved. But other than that I think it's great. 

Reviewed Product: Trek Ultra

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/3/2016

Great for Kids ...

Used this product on my 6 year old who has sensitive skin and had no problems at all. Not a bug bite all holiday.

Reviewed Product: Trek Ultra

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 4/11/2016

Still got a bit bitten ...

It's a convenient size for slinging in your day pack although remember to shake before you spray! 

I was visiting Sri Lanka for a couple of weeks and as one of those types who seems to attract the little bloodsuckers at all times of the day I wanted to invest in something a little stronger than the typical fare you can pick up at the local drugstore or airport.

I chose Pyramid Trek Ultra largely on the positive reviews and comparably lower level of the DEET (30% in this) and long lasting protection. I would coat up in the morning (arms, legs and feet), using a natural protection for face and neck, and would reapply a couple of times during the day and before bed. I still got bitten a few times in place where I thought I had covered myself but I was very happy with the overall effect, not least in the sheer amount of confidence it gives you the first time you walk out in t-shirt and shorts!

Reviewed Product: Trek Ultra

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/9/2017

No more bites for me ...

I used Repel Ultra last year on Holiday in Thailand as i always get bite to pieces, but no more. One bottle (120ml) lasted over 3 weeks using twice a day. If like myself and you get eaten for breakfast by mosquitos then this is the stuff to try

Reviewed Product: Trek Ultra

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/7/2015

A real smasher! ...

This stuff REALLY does the business. It works!

Reviewed Product: Trek Ultra

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/5/2014

The Best in the World ...

This repellent seems to be the best in the world, it is sprayed on the skin and fights the mosquito.
We found this site Pyramid Travel Products. The company has several products with different gradations of DEET, we have taken the most powerful and we use it only if there was indeed a real risk of malaria. If you browse the site, there are a number of interesting products for expeditions into the jungle or in particular areas of the world.

Reviewed Product: Trek Ultra

Review From: http://dueingiro.blogspot.it/

Review Date: 10/28/2014

5 Stars ...

Very good product and kept mosquitoes at bay in Mexico - definitely recommend.

Reviewed Product: Trek Ultra

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 2/1/2015

My life saver ...

Oh my, this Repel Ultra is a fantastic product. Worked fantastically well so much so I doubted that there were mosquitoes until I forgot to reapply the product after the 12 hours and was bit..... Didn't do that again.

Reviewed Product: Trek Ultra

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/4/2015

Best Repellent on Market ...

From being bitten regularly abroad, after using this, I didn't get one single bite the whole holiday. I'm stocking up :)

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/27/2014

For Mosquitoes ...

I always use this when I'm abroad. It's been the only thing that has kept the mosquitoes at bay and I've tried everything in the past. From now on I will only ever use Repel 100 and thoroughly recommend it.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/20/2014

The best product I have ever purchased ...

This is the best product I have ever purchased for stopping those pesky mossies biting me on holiday!! This is my second purchase of the product and I would definitely recommend it to all those poor people like myself who are always targeted and bitten. A thumbs up from me every time!!

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/7/2015

Absolutely Stunning Experience with This ...

Absolutely stunning experience with this. I went to Lake Malawi, so the most dangerous place in the world for Malaria, and bought 100%, 55% and a plug repellent. Nothing worked quite as well as the 100%.

Strength: Suitable. Used 55% sometimes during the day but as soon as sun started going down I made sure 100% was on and two weeks later I don't have Malaria. In fact as far as I know I didn't get bitten once.

Smell: Not pungent to my nostrils, in fact I felt the 55% smelt much worse than this. Anyway, it fades after a few minutes.

Size: Didn't remotely get through it, used extensively, portable.

All in all alongside everyone else using Boots stuff I felt that I had excellent protection using this stuff. You really shouldn't mess around when Malaria is in the offing, but if you're just looking to repel going somewhere like N Africa for example, you won't need 100%. If you're jungle-bound or going to a high-risk area, it's a must.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/21/2014

Eureka!!! It Works!! At Last a Great Product! ...

I never thought I would find a mosquito repellent that works!! Having suffered so badly in the past from nasty insect bites which have been so bad, it normally makes me feel miserable! However, Eureka, this has been amazing! Having spent 10 days in Thailand, both myself and my partner (who also suffers) we didn't get one bite between us Nothing!! Can't recommend it enough.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 4/27/2014

A must-have for backpacking ...

I took this with me to Thailand last year, and was very glad I did ... have to give this stuff 5 stars because it really came in handy one night.

I was staying in a (very basic) beach hut. My mosquito net was treated with Permethrin, and I took a bottle of Permethrin and sprayed the bed as well.

On the second night, I was woken up by a very strange feeling - my back and neck were incredibly itchy, and every now and then there was a sharp pain - like being jabbed with a pin. I grabbed my torch, and when I turned it on, found that my bed was covered in ants. Really small black ants.

They were all over my mosquito net, they were in my bed, my hair, my underwear ... everywhere. And they were biting me! So basically I freaked out. I leapt out of bed, and danced around in a circle slapping myself to try and kill the little critters. This went on for about 10 minutes.

Then, when I was satisfied there were no ants left on me, I chain smoked a few cigarettes, calmed down a bit and had a closer look at my bed. The ants were using my mosquito net like a big climbing frame, and they were small enough to crawl through the net, and down onto the bed. I can only assume that Permethrin is like catnip to these ants, because they seemed to be having a great time.

I grabbed my bottle of repel 100, and began spraying it over every square inch of the bed, the mosquito net, and myself.

I was very satisfied to see that the ants, when sprayed with this stuff, seemed to writhe around in pain for a few seconds and then curl up and die. It did take the whole bottle to cover everything, but it worked.

So, with the sun just coming up, I got back into bed and fell asleep, and promised myself I'd put a positive review on amazon recounting this story, and would never travel again without a bottle of this with me.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 3/26/2010

The Best on the Market ...

Been using Repel 100 for a few years now and found it the best insect repellent we've ever used. From someone who gets bitten quite a lot, whilst using this I didn't get bitten once. Ladies be careful with your nail polish as it does take the shine off it. I found gently rubbing a "quickie" nail polish remover pad over my Shellac polish it did buff it up ok. I personally won't use any other repellent since discovering Repel 100.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/3/2014

This works amazingly well ...

This works amazingly well. Used them in Cambodia during a jungle trek and it kept all mosquitos away. Have also used them in Ibiza and worked just as well there.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/29/2015

Very effective in use ...

I found this to be very effective when using it.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Mountain Warehouse

Review Date: 6/9/2014

Pyramid Insect Repellent ...

Repel 100 - would recommend this product, easy to use and certainly kept the mossies away. Long lasting and in an easily packable container which does not take up too much room in the suitcase.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/30/2014

Very Effective ...

I applied this morning and evening, and didn't get bitten at all in the Caribbean. The bottle lasted for the whole fortnight, and the smell is not unpleasant either. I'd use it again.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 3/24/2014

Superb ...

Bought this for use around the golf course, works well repels the mozzies/flies etc but can leave a 'residue' on plastics (sunglasses) so be careful....

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/19/2014

Would recommend to all ...

Have used this product before and would recommend it to all.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Mountain Warehouse

Review Date: 7/21/2014

No bugs for miles ...

This stuff is excellent!!! I used it last year in Kenya and Tanzania, and most recently in Cambodia and Laos. No bugs get through this stuff, and it lasts forever! I spray it like perfume (just a few key points on the body), and was bug bite free for the entire trip! Beware that it does melt plastic a little bit and I imagine could damage clothing if sprayed directly onto fabric. But if you want to stay bug free, this is the way to go!

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 3/29/2015

The first holiday ever without one bite ...

The first holiday ever that I have had not one bite! Out of our party of 8, I was totally bite free! Normally I'm eaten alive and react badly to the bites. Pleasant to use just a couple of sprays on to your hand then rub on. Just be sensible to keep it off plastics etc until it's soaked in. Then look forward to hours of bite protection!

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/11/2014

10/10 ...

I recently returned back from a 2 week trip to a rural part of Uganda. During this time I was surprised to find I did not get bitten once! The other people who I travelled with we're all bitten by mosquitoes on numerous occasions! This product is a must have for anyone travelling to insect prone areas, applied once a day, the smell is not unpleasant and only lasts momentarily. Fantastic product!

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/14/2014

Definitely worth Trying! ...

I tried this product after someone recommended it to me after seeing how badly I was always being bitten as my job is a gardener. Although I was always applying Jungle formula, Mijex etc I was still getting badly bitten. I have had no more bites at all while applying this product with the exception of a couple of bites when I went out to get some washing in on a weekend when I didn't have any on because I had been indoors all day. I would strongly recommend you give this a try if everything else has failed, as it works out no dearer than anything you would buy at the chemist. It really smells when you first apply it but it only lasts for a few minutes and then you don't notice it anymore. I will definitely be re-ordering shortly!

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/25/2014

No Bites in Vietnam & Cambodia ...

We have just returned from Vietnam & Cambodia and our son recommended REPEL 100!! (as he used on on his world travel). It's FANTASTIC!! NO BITES the WHOLE holiday. We would not want any Malaria injections, so opted for this great product and it WORKS!!!! Would highly recommend!!

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Pyramid Facebook Page

Review Date: 3/2/2015

Would not be without it ...

Have been using this product for a long time, thank god it does what it says. Would not be without it. Don't buy cheap stuff nothing works like this, and great in various strengths.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Mountain Warehouse

Review Date: 9/25/2014

Maximum Strength DEET ...

Used it in Thailand recently on holiday and although I still got a couple of mosquito bites this was down to my lack of skill in applying it everywhere on exposed skin rather than the product. Will buy it again when fully used up.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/2/2016

Did a Test...It Worked ...

Did a test......on two night fishing trips. The first one I used it and my mate didn't (I didn't tell him I had it) he got eaten alive I didn't. The second time we both used it and neither got bitten. It’s not cheap but I don't care because it WORKS.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/27/2014

Fully recommended ...

I used this when I went to Mexico sight-seeing in some of the jungle areas. It is brilliant stuff I didn't get bitten once.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 10/20/2015

Very reliable protection ...

It’s kind of extreme but if you're in the depths of the jungle in south-east Asia you can trust it will protect you.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 3/10/2015

A lifesaver for protecting against leeches!! ...

I don't usually leave feedback on amazon but I was amazed with this product!! Unlike most of the reviewers of this product, I wanted to protect against leech bites and it certainly did the job!! After spraying the product regularly on my arms, legs and boots there was no strong smell.Overall, in a group of 30, on a Dofe gold trip to Nepal, I was the only one left without a single leech bite for the entirety of the expedition!! Well worth the money!!

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/29/2014

Didn't Get Any Bites ...

Bought this for going on a 2 month trip to India. One bottle lasted me the entire trip and I don't think I got bit once. Well recommended.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/3/2014

Stops the bites, even in the jungle ...

This is about the only product I've found which stops pretty much any biting insect cold. We used this for a long trip through the jungles of Guatemala and Belize and we never got bitten while wearing it. On the one day I neglected to spray my legs I picked up a number of bites where I hadn't sprayed. Even back in the UK I use this when playing sports in a park near a river. In the humid summer evenings the mosquitoes are vicious, but when I use this spray I never get bitten, even when my team mates are covered in bites at the end of each session.

The spray is very oily which makes it easy to rub on and ensure you're well covered. It also helps to stop it being easily washed and wiped away while hiking or playing sports. There is just one warning: IT WILL MELT SYNTHETICS. This means anything from plastic sunglasses to the interior of your car. If this stuff gets onto anything plastic it will make it soft and sticky as it melts. My advice is to wash your hands after application to avoid accidentally melting your belongings when you handle them. The bottle itself will get covered in the spray as you use it, so make sure you keep it double bagged to avoid it coming in to contact with anything valuable.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/9/2015

You won't be disappointed with this product!! ...

Back today from the Dominion Republic and it did not let me down. Went over the top and bought 3 bottles for family of 4 for 2 wk stay as very concerned about virus outbreak on the island. Felt confident with the product and re-sprayed twice a day and on the upper part of the body when going to bed. Worked a treat! Got 3 bites on whole holiday on an evening l did not use it. I got Repel 100.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/21/2014

Great! ...

I went to India for 2 weeks and only got bit 4 times, this stuff works WONDERS! But ladies I would recommend putting some gloves on if you have nail varnish on because it's that strong it melts it away!

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 3/4/2015

Did not get bitten once in 3 months ...

Read some reviews that say this product smells, or cannot be used directly on skin. Both false. Used this in Southeast Asia for three months, mainly applied in the evening when the mozzies are out. No smell and did not harm skin. Does take nail varnish off though! The important thing is that I didn’t get bitten once in 3 months.

Reviewed Product:

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/10/2015

This product is excellent ...

Bought two 120ml Repel 55 for my 3 weeks travels in Asia and the Far East, but one was more than enough. Its a first class product for keeping insects away. I forgot to use it on my first night and got 5 bites. Needless to say, I applied it after showering each day for the rest of my trip and did not got bitten again. I used it in Thailand, Malaysia and South Korea. This product is excellent and you only needed to use a small amount each time over my legs and arms. It really works and is great value for money. I ended up giving the other one away. Just re-ordered it again for my new Far East trip next month. I cant praise this product enough, its superb.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/7/2015

Gave me peace of mind in South East Asia ...

I was very ignorant before my first trip out of Europe to Taiwan, the fact that injections are needed when visiting these more tropical places escaped me so when I went to the doctors two weeks before I was due to fly out I was told it was too late to have a Japanese encephalitis jab, on the advice of the nurse I went and bought this Repel 55.

Though the risk of this illness in Taiwan is nowhere near what it is in other more tropical places I was glad to have this to be sure, even if I was spending the majority of my 2 month trip in the northern cities. I actually forgot to use it for the first week or so and paid the price with 11 annoying bites. After that every evening on my way out I sprayed and rubbed it into my arms and before I slept, and didn't have another bite until I forgot to put it on again!

In retrospect I don't think I needed one quite this strong as the smell is noticeable, though not too pungent as to attract people's attention to you on the metro, unless you're packed like sardines!

So overall very happy, gave me fantastic peace of mind and will be trying out the slightly weaker DEET content Repel next time I'm out there again.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 12/20/2014

No Bites!!! ...

This repellent is excellent!!!! I'm just back from a fortnight in Side, Turkey. I have scars on my legs from last year’s mossie bites. I'm one of those people who get attacked by any & all biting insects but on this holiday not even a wee nibble!!!! :-)

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/27/2014

100% effective ...

Was going to the Dominican Republic and EVERYONE mentioned being bitten ... so decided I'd look for a repellent containing more DEET than usually found at Boots. Had initially checked out Repel 100, but this is real heavy-duty stuff more suitable to backpacking in a jungle and there were a few warnings about melting nail varnish and taking the colour off shoes. Decided to try Repel 55, which turned out to be perfect. Says that one 120ml bottle will last 4 weeks. Used it generously every night for 2 weeks and had plenty left. Expected to be suffocated by strong chemical smell (which I would have put up with if successful) but was surprised to find there was barely an odour. Huge success with this product.

Didn't get bitten once, despite spotting mosquitoes in the room and spending most evenings sitting out at dusk and evenings dining by the beach. My fellow travellers did get bitten, so began to borrow my Repel 55 and also became bite-free. Would highly recommend this product.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 2/8/2011

Wow ...

Wow, if you are looking for something really powerful, this product is the one for you. I used it whilst travelling around India last year and had no bites at all when I wore this repellent but on the days when I did not spray myself, I was bitten, it's highly effective but be careful to wash your hands after using as it stains clothes and toxic for the eyes.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/22/2015

Use It! ...

Forgot once and was eaten by mozzies, suffered for days. Use it and you can watch them move on and leave you alone.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 4/20/2014

Awesome ...

I am a mosquito magnet - just been on a trip to the US Virgin Islands camping with family - they were 'reluctant' to use my DEET spray and relied on some herbal camomile thing; let's just say the results speak for themselves - several of them had 50 bites after night 1, whereas I had none due to using the Repel 55 ... as you can imagine everyone was clamouring to use it on night 2!!!!

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 4/11/2014

Not a Mozzy Bite in Sight ...

Went on a 2 week trip to Kenya (including a Safari). Applied Repel 55 during the day and night and neither my wife nor myself had a single mosquito bite whilst on vacation. This is almost unheard of for me, as I tend to get bitten whenever I travel abroad (and sometimes even whilst in the UK). Repel 55 did a great job of keeping the mosquitoes at bay.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/13/2014

It Really Works! ...

It really works! I spent 2 weeks in East Asia and was only bitten 3 times...on the 2 occasions I forgot to apply it! This is unheard of for me - I'm usually the mossie target! .....be careful not to spill it on surfaces - it will take off the varnish!

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 4/2/2014

Best ever mosquito repellent ...

We live for 6 months in Sri Lanka - and we have to put on mosquito repellent whenever we work in the garden and in the evenings when we are sitting outside. This repellent I think is one of the best on the market - goes on easily with very little wastage, which I find with the aerosol type as more bounces off your skin than stays on you.

It’s not greasy and has no scent. The only problem as with all DEET products is that you must not touch any plastic straight afterwards as the DEET marks the plastic, but this is a small price to pay considering you don’t get bitten. I apply it twice a day and get very few bites -and mosquitoes absolutely love me!! In fact I've just bought another 9 bottles to take over to Sri Lanka again.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/19/2012

Really Useful and Effective ...

Really useful and effective - I spend months at a time in the tropics in areas where mosquitos are a problem and have found this to be really good - also doesn't feel too bad on the skin and has very little smell. Recommended.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/6/2014

Simply Amazing ...

I seriously cannot recommend this product enough which is why it gets 5 stars from me, and I am making the effort to leave an actual review. I bought this after searching through the mosquito sprays on amazon, based on the reviews already given. 2 weeks in Corfu so far, and not one bite. Indeed I have actually witnessed a mosquito die as it landed on me.

On the other hand, my friend who decided to rely on her old fashioned citronella mixed with baby oil 'trusted' remedy, has been bitten everywhere on a nightly basis.

Fair warning though, it is strong stuff, and very oily, so my autistic son who wouldn't use it because it was oil based, was also thoroughly attacked by the mosquitoes, and as other reviewers said, if you need your nails in pretty colours, this is not the product for you as it melts the nail varnish off your hands and feet almost instantly. I myself would rather have unbitten skin than my usual red nails. :D

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/29/2014

As recommended in several guidebooks ...

An essential addition to the luggage of anyone travelling to an area where mosquitoes and biting insects are prevalent. As recommended in several guidebooks this product containing DEET is about the only effective deterrent.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/5/2015

Brilliant! I've been to India several times and have ...

Brilliant! I've been to India several times and have always had a problem with mozzie bites. I thought i would give this a try and i have to say it's great. I got away with only 4 bites in 2 weeks and that was because i didn't use this as soon as i got out of the shower in the evening.

Well worth purchasing.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 3/23/2015

Only got bitten when I forgot to spray myself ...

This spray was a God send!! I used it religiously for a week in Rome and only got bitten when I popped outside for 10 minutes without remembering to spray myself - after previous bad experiences with mosquitoes I really believe that this spray is a must-have. 

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 1/9/2015

Easily absorbed into the skin ...

I go to Turkey every year and this product protects me from insect bites 100%. It has no real smell and is easily absorbed into the skin. It really is the real deal.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/2/2014

Definitely recommended! ...

I bought this product to take with me to use in Jamaica after I had heard that the place I would be staying in had a lot of mosquitoes. Originally I had thought about getting the Repel 100 but after reading that it was really only for use in places in which malaria was a real threat I decided against it and I'm glad that I did as this product was more than adequate.

Of the people that I travelled with, I having used this product, was the person who was bitten the least. I think I only got bitten once. However like the Repel 100 it did melt my nail varnish and also has a tendency to really dry your skin but all in all I was very happy with this product and believe that it served me very well indeed. Would definitely use again and certainly recommend!

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/6/2014

5 Stars ...

Works brilliantly. My Father had been bitten by horse flies, and after reading lots of reviews, this seemed the best product to tackle the problem in future. I'm pleased to report that he hasn't been bitten since, although the other people he's been with certainly have. A resounding success.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/17/2014

Saved me from getting eaten alive ...

Went to Coastal Kenya for 3 months from April-July. This product lasted me ages and really did the job. I also bought the Deet 100 from this range and worked equally well, however I found Deet 55 was enough. Product is very strong, will take off nail varnishes and even the print on the bottle of you touch it after you have touched the insect repellent. So be careful what you touch after using these products with unwashed hands. Not one bite when using this product. Does the job! Fitted perfectly in my bag too.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/14/2015

Effective and not unpleasant to use ...

Good value, non-smelly and soaked in fast, Seemed to work as we did not get any bites when using this in India in March. Would buy again. The bottle seemed a bit small but easily lasted me for 2 weeks.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/10/2014

Not One Bite ...

Not one bite. This product is the best I have used. I even slept with window open.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/13/2017

good ...

I've used this product a few years now and have always been happy.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/8/2017

Bite Free ...

Better than jungle formula as the pump enables more accurate dispensing, kept all flying stuff away

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/28/2016

Grateful!! ...

Best thing I bought!! Thankful I came across this.. it saved me!! Buy it!! Do not hesitate trust me!

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/30/2017

Excellent Mosquito Repellent ...

Bought this for a holiday in the Dominican Republic for my poor wife who normally gets eaten alive anywhere hot. A few squirts on a night before we went out and she spent the entire holiday bite-free, which is a first for her. There's no strong smell to the product, although if you apply too much it can be a little greasy. My wife has quite sensitive skin, but found there was absolutely no reaction to this product. Goes a long way too, after using it all week the bottle still seems almost full.

Also used the Trek 100 on alternative days, yet this seems just as effective. Given the concentration of DEET in the Trek 100 it's probably worth having both like we did, and going with the minimum effective dose.

Highly recommended

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/21/2016

Perfect - Not a mark on me after a few weeks in the tropics ...

Brilliant stuff.Mosquitoes love me! The feeling isn't mutual but with this spray we had effective protection for the 2 weeks or so it lasted us. I barely had a mark on me in tropical Thailand whereas usually I am a complete mess after a few days with very nasty bites that are both sore and unsightly.

Once it ran out, I replaced it with a cheap spray from a local chemist and was promptly crucified with the most horrific bites I have experienced yet.

I will make sure I have a few extra bottles for next year, it works and makes such a difference not having to endure such horrific bites and no doubt also reduces the risk of mosquito born diseases, all for a few quid. 

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/22/2016

Good priced DEET based repellent ...

Good priced DEET based repellant. We have used this on numerous occasions, including backpacking through Asia and on safaris in Africa and it has worked well every time. We have also used it to spray mosquito nets and clothes with good effect. Most recently my pregnant wife used it on all her clothes whilst in Africa in combination with a non-DEET repellant on her skin. Would recommend. 

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/10/2016

Great product, does the trick…… ...

As expected as it’s scientifically proven, DEET does work as a good anti-mosquito spray.

People comment about the smell, but in my opinion it does not smell that strong compared to other similar products.

I bought 2x Trek 50 and they have lasted me a good 2 months trekking around South East Asia. One would of probably been enough.

This product most definitely does the trick.

I would definitely add this to my must have travelling list for places like Asia. Especially on islands such as Phi Phi Don

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/14/2016

Best product on the market to repel mosquitoes. A must have item!!! ...

I bought this mosquito repellent and one from Boots and there is no comparison. I used the Boots one on my first two days in Mexico and still got bit. I changed to use this one and never got bit again. It feels quite oily so it moisturises your skin at the same time but dries quickly so it doesn't mark your clothes. I would recommend this product to anyone who suffers from mosquito bites. 

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/9/2016

Superb Stuff, barely a bite on my last trip ...

Superb stuff, barely a bite on my last trip. I use this as a top coat and avon skin so soft as a base. This stuff is that potent it even repels the wife ;-)

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 4/4/2016

Highly Recommended ...

This is a great product. We spent 2 weeks on the Colombian Caribbean Coast and rainforest and used this product regularly. We never got bitten and mosquitoes stayed away as well as flies and other insects.

Moreover, I have very sensitive skin and normally have an allergic reaction to insect repellent, but didn't have an issue this time. The product does give you a slight burning sensation immediately after you apply it, but this lasts only a couple of seconds.

It does stain clothes, if you're not careful, but it did protect us from zika and other mosquito-borne diseases which are rife in the area we visited.

During our 2 weeks' holiday, we used about 1.5 bottles of it.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 2/20/2016

Cannot Recommend this Enough ...

I am usually entirely swollen with bites from day 1 of my Mediterranean holidays, and it essentially ruins the rest of my holiday with insane itchiness. I didn't get one bite after applying this every night, even in a very moderate dose. It is oily and the smell is a little strong, but even application in very liberal amounts seems to work effectively. I recommend spraying this into your hand and rubbing this on exposed areas, purely because you risk the spray getting onto clothes and leaving its smell in the rest of the room. This is definitely the answer for a mosquito-bite-free holiday.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 5/21/2016

My mozzie spray of choice for India trips ...

My go-to mosquito repellent, used extensively for work field trips to India in addition to holidays and work trips to other locations. When well-covered I can't think of a single bite I've had. To avoid malaria and other mosquito-borne diseases I trust this spray above all others. It even helps to repel leeches when sprayed around trouser-bottoms. In addition the spray is good value, so I can think of nothing more that it could offer for the price. A great product.My go-to mosquito repellent, used extensively for work field trips to India in addition to holidays and work trips to other locations. When well-covered I can't think of a single bite I've had. To avoid malaria and other mosquito-borne diseases I trust this spray above all others. It even helps to repel leeches when sprayed around trouser-bottoms. In addition the spray is good value, so I can think of nothing more that it could offer for the price. A great product.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 10/9/2015

This was like finding a pot of gold ...

After suffering multiple bites for years & not being able to find anything as a decent repellent, this was like finding a pot of gold, making my holiday a lot more fun.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 11/3/2015

Good stuff, not greasy or smelly ...

I bought this for my wife to use on holiday, she was very happy with it. She only got bit once in the airport because she didn't have any on.

Reviewed Product: Trek 20

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/5/2016

Good product, reapply every 4 hours ...

Repel 20 is a very good mosquito repellent (we used this in Ghana) and it is fine to use on children (no allergy, kids are 6+). Take care not to spray directly to skin as it tends to get everywhere (eyes, mouth!). Spray onto your hands and apply to exposed skin. Only last about 4 hours but it is all right as it's suitable for younger and sensitive skin. Did not get a mosquito bite with this on. Great product!

Reviewed Product: Trek 20

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/5/2014

Works well ...

Took it to Kerala in southern India. As we travelled about there were loads of insects and particularly Mosquitos. The only time I was bitten was on the last day when I couldn't use the product as it was packed away. So, I was impressed and would recommend. I should add that we also took a Malarone (anti-malaria) tablet each day.

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/11/2015

The best repellent I’ve used ...

Used this in Borneo and Indonesia last year and it was very effective, proven by how many bites I got the day I forgot to put some on! Feels and smells much nicer than DEET based repellents, is much less greasy, and seems to do the job as well, if not better.

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/12/2014

Safe & Effective ...

I liked it very much it worked well on bites.

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 8/13/2014

Effective if thoroughly applied ...

This does a pretty good job. It does smell a bit but not at all bad as these things go. The mosquitoes always seem to pick me out and it does seem to stop them. You do need to be thorough. If you leave bits out, they will get you!

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/22/2014

Keeps the biting bugs away ...

I work in Africa, pyramid Repel keeps the biting bugs away.

Reviewed Product: Trek 50

Review From: Mountain Warehouse

Review Date: 8/6/2014

A Revelation ...

I am normally incredibly tasty to mossies and everyone else in my party started calling me 'bait'.... applied this stuff and it was a revelation. It is not greasy but has a slight feeling of spray sun screen oil. It smells exactly like juicy fruit so is not at all unpleasant. It also didn't appear to have any ill effects on plastics. Very pleased.

Reviewed Product: Trek Sensitive

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/2/2014

Midge Repellent that Works! ...

With the north west of Scotland experiencing the worst midges in living memory, according to the locals, this little bottle did the trick. No bites at all.

Reviewed Product: Trek Midge & Tick

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/23/2014

Five Stars ...

Does what it says, had no more mosquito bites this year.

Reviewed Product: Trek Natural

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 9/30/2015

Thoroughly recommend these ...

I purchased these in 2015, wore them in Africa, for the first time I did not get bitten by mosquitoes, I wore one on wrist and another on ankle. Thoroughly recommend these. They last for a few days longer than stated and really are a God send.. Will be ordering more this year..

Reviewed Product: MOSI-OFF Bands

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 3/9/2017

Excellent Repellent Bands ...

Does an excellent job.

Reviewed Product: MOSI-OFF Bands

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 7/5/2015

Good ...

It served its purpose although it's not comfortable to wear. Having said that I've never worn any nets that are comfortable.

Reviewed Product: Midge Hat

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 4/29/2016

Excellent and easy to use ...

Easy to set up and dismantle. Did the job very well for 6 weeks in Dominica.

Reviewed Product: Mosinet

Review From: Amazon

Review Date: 6/5/2017